April 01, 2024

2023 Hall of Fame Inductees

Our Honorees include:

Greg Green (Alumni)

Greg Green (‘88) is a United States Air Force Academy graduate and 30-year Air Force veteran, retiring last year at the rank of Colonel. A pilot with over 4500 flight hours, he participated in several combat campaigns including those supporting the former Yugoslavia, Kosovo, and Iraq, flying over 400 combat and 400 combat-support hours. As a Latin America specialist, he advised Ambassadors in three US Embassies on political-military matters. Greg has lived in five foreign countries and numerous locations in the US, but remains a huge supporter of St. Anthony, still calling Effingham his home.

Mary Sur (Alumni)

Mary Sur (’65), a lifelong member of St. Anthony Parish, served in many roles at St. Anthony Parish over the years, including picnic chair, lector, eucharistic minister, and children’s liturgy coordinator. She was a DeColores treasurer and board member as well as volunteer for many local organizations. CCW named her Woman of Distinction in 2016. She unselfishly gave of her time, talent, and treasure in order to enrich our lives.

Keelin (Eder) Schneider (Fine Arts)

Keelin (Eder) Schneider (04) sang in the Chorus, performed in a number of musical productions, and played harp for many masses and school functions during her time at St. Anthony High School. During her senior year, Keelin was selected to perform as the harpist for the ILMEA District and All-State Honors Orchestra. She was the harpist for FACE productions, EIU performances, and a variety of community events. Keelin attended the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where she earned a Bachelor of Music degree in Harp Performance with Honors and graduated as a James Scholar. While at U of I, she was the harpist for the Symphony and Philharmonia Orchestras, Symphonic Band, and Illini Union Board musical pit orchestra.

Joe, Diane, and Yale Reynolds (Faculty, Staff, or Coach)

Joe, Diane and Yale Reynolds have all had major impacts on the St. Anthony tennis programs. Joe was the boy’s coach from the program’s inception in 1999 until 2016. His record during that time was 240-23, and he sent 28 players to State. Yale was the girl’s coach from 1994-2010. During that time, he amassed a 157-7 record and won the Sectional Championship 10 times. He sent 32 players to State and had two Top 10 team finishes at State. While Diane never officially held the title as tennis coach at St. Anthony, she’s been an integral part of both the girl’s and boy’s programs and had a major impact on every player that has come through the tennis program, and is the true reason that tennis is strong in the Effingham community.

2012 Baseball Team (Athlete or Team)

The 2012 State Champion Baseball Team had a season record of 31-8-1. In the state series, they defeated Alton Marquette in the semifnals 6-2 and Tuscola in the finals 6-1. In the seven post season games leading up to their championship win, they outscored their opponents 47-6. The 2012 team included Braden Puckett, Thomas Stephens, Zach Gardewine, Jacob Lorenz, Austin Bushur, Neil Williams, Connor Greene, Kyle Bourgeois, Michael Stephens, Eric Gurtner, Cody Pike, Charlie Schultz, Jared Having, Reed Willenborg, Ben Hecht, Michael Kabbes, Eli Dasenbrock, Scott Rentfrow and Alex Hoelscher. The team was coached by Kenny Miller, Dave McDevitt and Grant Keller.

For more information about the St. Anthony Hall of Fame, including a lit of current of Hall of Fame members, or nomination information, visit StAnthony.com/HallofFame

2023 Booster Club Member of the Year – Troy Greene

Troy Greene has dedicated countless hours to the St. Anthony sports programs. He has been instrumental in the planning and execution of the Carl P. Koerner Sports Spectacular golf tournament for the past 20 years. Troy has put hundreds of hours into this event that has raised over $1.5 million dollars for area athletics, $750,000 going directly to the St. Anthony Booster Club. While investing his time, talent, and treasure into the golf tournament, Troy has also been personally supportive of Bulldog programs throughout the years.

related articles

  • 2024
  • 2023
  • 2022